top of page

Enabling Legislation

The DC Tax Revision Commission was created by (D.C. Code § 47–462)

(1) To analyze the District’s current tax system in terms of revenue productivity and stability, efficiency, equity, simplicity of administration, and effect upon the District’s economy;

(2) To propose innovative solutions for meeting the District’s projected revenue needs while recommending potential modifications to tax rates;

(3) To identify economic activities which are either beneficial or detrimental to the District’s economy and which should be either encouraged or discouraged through tax policy;

(4) To recommend changes in the District’s current tax policies and laws;

(5) To establish or revise criteria and a conceptual framework for evaluating current and future taxes. Such criteria and framework shall consider racial equity impacts;

(6) To identify unused and duplicative tax credits and tax abatements and recommend policy changes to improve the way the District utilizes tax expenditures; and

(7) To analyze the specific changes to the District's tax system since the Commission's most recent recommendations to determine the extent to which such changes are consistent with the principles identified in this section.

Members of the D.C. Tax Revision Commission

Anthony A. Williams, Chairman

Former Mayor of the District of Columbia and current CEO and Executive Director, Federal City Council

Rahsaan G. Bernard

President, Building Bridges Across the River

David Catania

Former D.C. Council Member and current Managing Director, Georgetown Public Affairs

James L. Hudson


Glen Lee

Chief Financial Officer, DC Government

Gregory McCarthy

Senior Vice President of Community Engagement, Washington Nationals

Jodie McLean

President and Chief Investment Officer, EDENS: Connective Retail

Carolyn Rudd

Chair, D.C. Chamber of Commerce and President, CRP, Inc.

Yesim Sayin

Executive Director, DC Policy Center

Erica Williams

Executive Director, DC Fiscal Policy Institute

Rashad Young

Former D.C. City Administrator and current Senior Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer, Howard University

bottom of page